Society of Colonial Wars in the State of Virginia

Society of Colonial Wars
Message from the Governor
Society Information
Officers & Council
Seal of the Society
Flag Collection
Tablets and Monuments
General Society
Society Membership
Membership Information
Photos of the 2016 Fall Court
Photos of the 2017 Cy Nicholas Luncheon
Photos of the 2017 Spring Court
Photos of the 2017 Fall Court
Photos of the 2018 Fall Court
Photos of the 2019 Cy Nicholas Luncheon
Photos of the 2019 General Society Saturday Social
Photos of the 2019 Spring Court
Annual Fund
Purpose of the Fund
Donations made by the Society
Links of Interest
Contact Us

Governors of the Virginia Society

Governors 1894-2014

*Joseph Bryan 1894-1908
*James Alston Cabell 1913-1929
*Alexander Gustavus Brown, Jr. 1929-1934
*Herbert Worth Jackson 1934-1937
*Clifton Meredeth Miller 1937-1940
*Charles Russell Robins 1940-1943
*Otis Manson Alfriend 1943-1944
*James Pleasants Massie 1944-1946
*Herbert Worth Jackson, Jr. 1946-1948
*Thomas Callendine Boushall 1948-1950
*Wyndham Bolling Blanton 1950-1952
*Walter Spencer Robertson 1952-1953
*Samuel Merrifield Bemiss 1953-1955
*James Harvie Wilkinson, Jr. 1955-1956
*Edwin Hyde 1956-1957
*Samuel Spencer Jackson 1957-1958
*Lewis Franklin Powell, Jr. 1958-1959
*Edwin Cox 1959-1960
*Joseph Linwood Antrim, Jr. 1960-1961
*Lewis Garland Chewning 1961-1962
*William Fraser Tompkins 1962-1965
*William Ryland Gardner 1965-1968
*Osmond Tower Jamerson 1968-1970
*John Clifford Miller, Jr. 1970-1972
*James White Rawles 1972-1974
*St. George Tucker Grinnan, Jr. 1974-1976
Catesby Brooke Jones, II 1976-1978
Cannon Hobson Goddin 1978-1980
*Herbert Worth Jackson, III 1980-1982
*Horace Hawes Harrison 1982-1984
Russell Cecil Scott 1984-1986
*Edwin Cox III 1986-1988
Burr Noland Carter, II 1988-1990
Allen Mead Ferguson 1990-1992
*John Bruce James, Jr. 1992-1994
Miles Cary, Jr. 1994-1996
*Cyrus Barnholt Nicholas, Jr. 1996-1998
Douglas Pendleton Rucker, Jr. 1998-2000
Roderick Dew Brown 2000-2002
John Bolling Williamson 2002-2004
*Robert Carter Brydon 2004-2006
Peter Edwin Broadbent, Jr. 2006-2008
*William Ramsey Richardson 2008-2010
Francis Claiborne Johnston, Jr. 2010-2012
Benjamin William Emerson 2012-2014
Henry Cannon Spalding, III 2014-2016
Lewis Taylor Cowardin 2016-2018
Charles Lewis Grant2018-